Go Back   AFA Forums > Religion, Unreason and Similar Tropes > Belief Central

Belief Central A place for the discussion of belief or a colony for repeated logical fallacies or misrepresentations.

Closed Thread

Old 20th March 2010, 05:06 PM
Raptured!

Default Hi from a believer interested in discussion

Hi guys,

I have been a Christian for around 14 years. I am interested in engaging in discussion/debate to broaden and deepen my understanding. I have had discussions with atheists in different areas on the net and have found it thought provoking. I am not interested in emotionally charged, irrational debate (have done plenty of that in the past ).

I have a strong interest in science, although I am not a scientist and I don't necessarily believe that science is the key to believing/not believing...just as science cannot provide the answer to many of life's important questions.

I am interested in the following discussions:
1. Intelligent Design
2. Morality
3. History

These are outlined below.

I am interested in discussion about why intelligent design and universe tuning is not considered as evidence. The fact that the world is such and amazing, beautiful place. That the science behind life is so amazingly complicated and intelligent, far beyond anything we could ever create ourselves (even though we are highly intelligent beings). To have such a level of awareness to ask the questions beyond survival of 'why am I here?', 'what is my purpose?', 'what is right and wrong?'.

Morality is also an interesting discussion. I have read some atheists saying that they don't need some holy book to be a good person or to not murder someone. I agree. I was a 'good' person before I became a Christian (I didn't murder, lie (much), beat people, etc), but I can say that by becoming a Christian, I have become a better person than I was. (hmm what does 'better' mean??? It's a good question).