Go Back   AFA Forums > Atheism > Ask an atheist

Ask an atheist Want to know atheists' viewpoints on things? Want to better understand the atheist worldview?
Here's the place.

Old 9th February 2017, 12:06 AM
AFA Member

Default Was Judaism Originally Polytheistic?

I am sure that this topic has been brought up previously, but I would like to get member's take on it. From the very first phrase in the bible, it talks of god in the plural;

Genesis 1
King James Version (KJV)
1 In the beginning Elohim (gods) created the heaven and the earth.

The Bible also talks frequently about other gods as if they were real competitors and makes mention of "son's of God"

Do you think that from the get go, ancient Jews and early Christians believed in other gods?
Old 9th February 2017, 12:10 AM
Trust me, I'm not a doctor.

Default Re: Was Judaism Originally Polytheistic?

The jury is out, but I think it likely that Judaism originally stemmed from Atenism, which was the first monotheism

Like SEG liked this post
Old 9th February 2017, 01:21 AM
AFA Member

Yes, I think it was.. Though hard to know if it started as monotheistic and adopted Asherah and touches of the Canaanite faith such as name of the Canaanite god (El) who collectively with Asherah was coincidentally known as Elohim (another Torah name for god), then dropped her again, or started as an offshoot of the Canaanite polytheism and filtered down into monotheism.. I have an interesting book on this called 'the early history of god, yahweh and the other deities in ancient israel" that argues the later.

El, the supreme Canaanite god that happened coincidentally to share his name with one of Yehweh's names in the Torah though the argument is El was a generic name for god at the time? - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/El_%28deity%29