Go Back   AFA Forums > Welcome > Introduce Yourself

Introduce Yourself Please introduce yourself and share what makes you faithless or faithful.

Old 20th March 2017, 11:23 AM

Default Lifelong atheist. Sydney Australia. G'day.

G'day everyone.

I have been a member of a US based atheist site for a few years. Sadly it is chock full of American politics and theist trolls.

I had to escape.

I am 52, male and retired due to ill health. I've been fighting a deadly cancer for over 3 years. I spent 18 months in hospital and 19 months on an experimental drug.

I find it difficult to be among theists. Especially theist trolls. I do not dislike a theist simply for being a theist. I do dislike them when they try to impose their beliefs onto me, whether personal or politically motivated.

I first rejected xianity at age 4 when I read a children's bible. I decided then it made no sense. My view has not changed.

Unlike most xians, I read the bible. For many years I was heavily involved the the US based satirical site, Landover Baptist Church where I was a pastor. This was back in the day before it became known for what it was. We had fun scaring "christian lite" style christians with the many hateful verses contained within their belief system.

These days I lack the energy to bother with xian trolls. I just want to speak with more rational people. And an Australian forum sounds like a good place.

Oh and I recently rejected Coopers beer after they went about selling theism in secular Australia. I sent an email which went unanswered.

Nice to meet you. I do hope I fit in.

NOTE: Due to the staggering amount of heavy chemicals that have passed through my body, E.G. 200+ chemo treatments, I sometimes get confused. I ask that when I appear confused, please be patient with me.

Unsure if my membership has expired with Aus Atheists. I must check and renew.

Nice to meet you all.