PDA

View Full Version : YouTube won't embed properly



Fiery
8th March 2009, 07:51 AM
1- went to youtube.
2- copied the embed code that I wanted to post on the Forum.
3- Clicked into the advanced posting mode.
4- pasted the embed code.
5- highlighted the embed code.
6- clicked on the YouTube icon
7- ended up with this...


<object width="445" height="364"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/SEK_lHbfRAg&hl=en&fs=1&border=1"></param><param (http://www.youtube.com/v/SEK_lHbfRAg&hl=en&fs=1&border=1%22%3E%3C/param%3E%3Cparam) name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/SEK_lHbfRAg&hl=en&fs=1&border=1 (http://www.youtube.com/v/SEK_lHbfRAg&hl=en&fs=1&border=1)" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="445" height="364"></embed></object>


But it doesn't show up on my computer as an embedded video.

Possibly- it's my computer as I'm using an outdated desktop and just recently installed some Windows updates. (I know.. the shame, it burns.)

:confused:

GUDLUSS
8th March 2009, 09:03 AM
I think you just have to press the YouTube icon, then put the bit after the 'v=' in the URL in between the things

GenericBox
8th March 2009, 11:17 AM
yeah youtube =

<youtube>adb475u87</youtube>

With square brackets instead.

Fiery
8th March 2009, 11:50 AM
ummmmm, that's what I did. If you'll note the steps I took, I outlined the code I wanted "youtubed" clicked the youtube icon. It bracketed the code with squared off youtube brackets. And what you see is what I got. Will keep trying, but this is weird as!!!! I've done it successfully before, and I do know about the FAQ pages.

Nice use of Jake opening a pressie by the way. Best video EVER!!!!!!

Fiery
8th March 2009, 11:51 AM
<object width="445" height="364"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/yjlihERQlYs&hl=en&fs=1&border=1"></param><param (http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/yjlihERQlYs&hl=en&fs=1&border=1%22%3E%3C/param%3E%3Cparam) name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/yjlihERQlYs&hl=en&fs=1&border=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="445" height="364"></embed></object>

Fiery
8th March 2009, 11:52 AM
still not working.

copy the embed code that youtube provides
paste embed code in "go advanced" post window.
highlight embed code
click YOUTUBE button
click submit.

TADA!!!! :(

davo
8th March 2009, 12:00 PM
Your doing it wrong, the faq and what others have said, you don't use the code it provides, you use the video ID from the url.
Not thier embed code!

Fiery
8th March 2009, 12:14 PM
You're right, I didn't read that FAQ carefully enough, because I *thought* I knew how to do it.

Massive embarassment.

I've successfully embeded youtube vids before and don't remember doing it that way.

The shame... It burnz....

Fiery
8th March 2009, 01:41 PM
As in the FAQ example, use the ID number from the URL. The ID is the alphanumeric text between the "equals" sign and the "ampersand" in the address bar.

Yep it was that little between the = and & from the web address that I needed to hear.

Thanks to all for answering such a n00b question.

Peanuts
12th June 2009, 01:50 PM
Cd6VSKLJRkw&feature

Peanuts
12th June 2009, 02:04 PM
Yep it was that little between the = and & from the web address that I needed to hear.

Thanks to all for answering such a n00b question.

I feel your pain :D

Lizzy

Peanuts
12th June 2009, 02:07 PM
Oh, you did. I was about to suggest the &feature removal.

Shhhhh....I'm hoping you're the only one who's noticed me flailing around here! :D



but seriously thanks! :)

davo
12th June 2009, 02:24 PM
TX3UqY8KZpU

boxsey
12th June 2009, 02:30 PM
zZaisF3iLKg

boxsey
12th June 2009, 02:31 PM
I did it! I did it!

Peanuts
12th June 2009, 07:18 PM
TX3UqY8KZpU

USWzhY7TUoE&feature

davo
12th June 2009, 09:58 PM
doh

social commentary at it's finest

youngmoigle
12th June 2009, 10:05 PM
Sometimes the you-tube routine puts a space between the bracket and the code. It won't work until the space is removed.

[youtube] abcdefg[youtube]

[youtube]abcdefg[youtube]