PDA

View Full Version : Risen!

Digitalos
29th September 2009, 11:01 AM
Heya, I figured this was a good spot since it's wildly off-topic.

I'm not sure if you know, but I work in the games industry and coming out soon is a game by one of my favourite developers, Piranha Bytes. :) I don't know if anyone here likes games or RPG games in particular, but Risen is looking mighty fine, and to top it off they released a trailer set to Nightwish, one of my favourite bands. So, I'm pretty biased here, but I hope you enjoy (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uDqgpnVEgiU).

They have also made the Gothic games, of which all bar Gothic 3 were really great. They have a sort of reputation for releasing buggy games, but they have a new publisher now and also a partner in development, so I'm hoping Risen has turned out much better and more robust.

Logic
29th September 2009, 11:16 AM
Would you say it's comparable to WOW in terms of doing quests etc? (I'm blocked from the websites about it cause I'm at work)

Digitalos
29th September 2009, 11:26 AM
Would you say it's comparable to WOW in terms of doing quests etc? (I'm blocked from the websites about it cause I'm at work)
Yeah pretty much, though I'm not sure what sort of stuff WoW has you doing as I've not played it. It's a totally different art-style though, more realistic and gritty. The Gothic games, their previous works, are well-known for their open ended quests and the world atmosphere - you often end up working for one of several factions and how you accomplish things directly affects their success. Some cool things are that in Gothic, you can choose to attack an encampment of lets say, rebels, and then when you clear them out and come back later, the orcs have moved in and have setup a little house for you and there are all sorts of merchants and stuff. It feels pretty cool to really affect the world in various ways.

As far as I know Risen is single player only though.

Logic
29th September 2009, 11:35 AM